(One) Perspective on Queer Life in China

I started this project with the intention of showcasing one or two perspectives on LGBT life in China, because this was a subject I was unfamiliar with and I wanted to push myself out of my comfort zone. The subject was also chosen due to proximity, as I work with Lingxiao at the Queer Resource Center and I’ve wanted to ask her about her perspective as an queer international student for awhile. I had intended to search for at least one other person to interview so that I would be able to weave in more perspectives and juxtapose their similarities and differences (especially because China is big country and even two people would not be close to comprehensive representation), but I got super sick for almost three weeks and did not have the energy to search for and interview another person. In the end, it was good that I was only able to interview Lingxiao, because there was only so much I could include in five minutes, and there is already a lot that didn’t make it into the video.

I started with a few questions and asked follow-up questions as they came up when I needed clarification. These are the questions I wrote before the interview:

  1. What was your experience growing up in China (in general)?
  2. Tell me about when you first realized you were queer/that you were attracted to women.
  3. Was coming out an option for you? What was the process like? Is there a concept of “coming out” in Chinese culture, and how is it different from in the U.S.?
  4. How did you parents/friends/family react?
  5. What is queer life like in China?
  6. How was the transition to the U.S.?

What I learned through this process was that it’s really hard to make a documentary or ethnographic film of this length if you’re also trying to be sensitive to cultural nuances. I really did not want to fall into the trap of representing a culture inaccurately, which is why I titled it “Perspective on…”, to make it clear that this was only one person’s perspective rather than a film that could be used to form definitive conclusions about queer culture in China. That is what makes it ethnographic rather than documentary, since it’s more in line with an oral history.

I think if I had had more time to create the film, and if I could have lengthened the runtime, I could have created a better film in terms of validity as documentary. I tried my best, but even though this finalized product seems cohesive, I fear that through the editing process, I left out something important, or that I somehow misrepresented something the interviewee said. Without the constraints of time, I would have gone more in depth about her experiences as a Chinese person in general and then her experiences as a queer person in China, her transition to her time here in the States, and the differences she identified during our interview. There was one clip where she talked about how public displays of affection were frowned upon in queer couples, but that they would elicit the same sort of reaction even if the couples were straight, due to the culture of separation between public and private life in China. There was simply no room to include that, as well as the discussion on the differences between how the older generations dealt with queerness versus younger generations. The hardest part was figuring out which aspects to cut and which to keep in, while trying to maintain a balance in the film of negative and positive observations. I hope I was successful in that, but I’ll let others be the judge.

One of the other problems I had was my struggle to find footage to splice into the film while the subject was talking. I didn’t want the film to be just footage of an oral history, but I had to show something that enhanced the rest of the film. I ended up filming her walking around, talking to classmates, and studying. I also got some shots of the walls in the Queer Resource Center and of her office, but I am unhappy with that part of the film and think I could have utilized the space better, perhaps with photos from her high school and college days, maps or illustrations of her hometown or school, etc. This is something to keep in mind for future documentary projects, to make sure that the footage actually adds something to the film rather than acting as filler.

Overall, I’m pleased with my final video because I honestly did not think I would be able to complete it in time. I wish the camera I used wasn’t so old that most of the footage was a little blurry, but that can’t be helped. Ultimately, I think I was able to showcase an experience that may not get a lot of attention in the U.S., and I’m proud of the work that I did to complete the project.

7 thoughts on “(One) Perspective on Queer Life in China

  1. Wow – FASCINATING subject!

    First – I’m impressed with the footage you were able to shoot – not only the revealing and honest interview/narrative, but the context of the individual’s life – her time at CGU, her wanderings around campus, etc.

    What an intriguing, insightful comment she made about her family saying “as long as you get married, you can do/be whatever you want”. As part of the 2nd generation Asian-American culture, I know that paradigm/mentality very, very well.

    I thought that the entire project was put together well and that the transitions were smooth. It had a continuous, cohesive feel.

    I might have dabbled a bit with perhaps putting some text in so that we could “see” the questions that she was answering directly… BUT I also liked how you did it – so – just a thought…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! You commented before I had written up my reflection (my fault for not writing it up before), but I’m glad to get your response from watching the film alone. As I said above, I’m not as happy with the footage of her wanderings around campus, but it’s good that you saw it as context for her life at CGU and that it was effective.

      The comment about “as long as you get married” actually didn’t come from her family; it was more of a thing that a lot of families say when reacting to their kids’ queerness. I’m not sure if that was clear though, so this is good insight for the future.

      Thank you for your thoughts! 🙂

      Like

  2. Your subject was very articulate. It was smart to center your piece around her interview, and let that be the analysis you portray. As an individual’s perspective, you did a good job of eliciting a well rounded narrative of her experience. That speaks to your strengths as an interviewer. What wasn’t so successful for me was the b-roll. I didn’t get more information from that other than she is a student, so I didn’t feel that it added much to the piece, or in terms of understanding her or her subjectivity. She speaks about the way she navigates her queer identity in China, so it seems that the b-roll could have been a place to learn more about how she navigates that identity in the US. It seems that you touched upon that a little bit through imagery such as the Valentine’s party, but I didn’t get a sense beyond that. Nonetheless, this was a very sensitive piece, and it was informative, and I appreciate it, and the voice you present very much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comments and for pointing out what wasn’t as successful about the B-roll. That was something I struggled with, and I wrote about it in my reflection but hadn’t posted that part yet when you commented (my fault for not posting it with the video). I think that with more time, I could have made a better film, but it’s good to know that centering it around her was effective and that the narrative seems well-rounded.

      Like

  3. I think that given the struggles you describe in the logistics of putting your project together that the final product is really good. You were able to construct a video that feels cohesive and compelling and interesting.

    The critiques I have are really things that you have already acknowledged:
    Having only one subject who you interviewed I think that the additional footage would have indeed been a great opportunity to add to the film, possibly by contextualizing her experience with other information about queer folks in China or queer folks from China living in the US.

    Your framing and commentary about your process as far as your struggle to edit the video without misrepresenting the subject or over-simplifying an entire culture through one interview was successful in that accountability for your position as the film maker, which I really appreciate.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really enjoyed hearing your subjects perspective on this. I found it especially useful to hear about her experience here compared to China. Specifically, I think it’s interesting to see that in other countries being “out” isn’t as important to happiness as we tend to think it is here. And even here not everyone feels like being out is a big deal. I think for those of us who see ourselves as allies to the LGBTQ community, we might forget that not everyone wants to be out, or even feels like that’s the path to happiness.
    Aesthetically, I think the B-roll is somewhat effective, at least giving a glimpse into her life, but there could have been other ways to negotiate this possibly (I think you discuss this in the blog). I also want to say that I appreciate that you have captioned this video. This semester, I have a deaf student and I’ve finally seen how awful many captions are youtube are. So many of them don’t match up with what’s actually being said. Thank you for that!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment